Inspiration

 

Image

Inspiration comes in various guises. As a young pianist, I think it is fair to say that I rely quite heavily on my teacher for this inspiration; as well as support and at times, criticism. In my piano lesson last week, after I had finished playing through Chopin’s Ballade no. 1 (panting and already punishing myself), my teacher said to me; ‘Now. I am going to give you a huge compliment, but I am also going to Kick your ass!’

To be quite honest, this was a far better reaction than I thought he was going to give me…

1: the compliment he gave me was very flattering

2: (and more importantly) I NEED to have my ass kicked! If it’s going to make me a better musician then it is totally worth it! That’s why I am at a conservatoire.  Otherwise, I wouldn’t put myself through the torturous routine of; practise.. fail..practise..forget..practise etc. 

Although I have got slightly off topic here, I think this is all relevant information to my topic of INSPIRATION.

What I really want to say is that I find my teacher utterly inspiring. He is relatively young to be so incredibly experienced and he has spent a lot of his career working with the PIANISTIC GODDESS; Martha Argerich. 

Why not take a listen to GABRIELE BALDOCCI?

 

Leave a Reply

