What do these people have in common?

andrew lw

Andrei Rieu

Lang Lang

Their musical offerings are somewhat contested…..

Now, I would like to make clear that I am not stating MY opinion here, but musing on the controversy that surrounds people like Lang Lang, Andrei Rieu and Andrew Loyd Webber.

Once, I remember sitting in Piano Tutorial when someone (I’m NOT mentioning any names) said that they thought Lang Lang was a great Pianist. The reaction to this opinion was hilarious. Everyone (including the teacher) gasped as they turned in the direction of the ‘culprit’. The ten (or so) pianists in the room then began ranting about their opinions on Lang Lang. Comments such as; Pompus, ridiculous, exaggerated and ‘wears glittery suits’ were thrown around.
HOWEVER, this article presents the opposite idea: http://www.theguardian.com/music/2013/nov/17/lang-lang-review

A similar reaction would be found if someone shared any strong views on Andrei Rieu or Andrew Loyd Webber. I will say that I for one, am partial to a little bit of ‘Joseph’… having played Jacob in my school’s production aged 15. It was a girl’s school, I might add.

Leave a Reply

